

GEORGE DUNNE AWARD OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION BY AN INDIVIDUAL

This award recognises and celebrates the extraordinary personal and professional achievements and contributions by an individual who has significantly impacted the Northern Territory tourism and hospitality industry over many years. It honours those whose dedication, innovation and passion have played a pivotal role in shaping the industry's growth and success.

Recipients of this award are individuals who have:

- Demonstrated outstanding leadership and vision.
- Made lasting contributions that have enhanced the Northern Territory's reputation as a tourism and hospitality destination.
- Inspired and mentored the next generation of tourism and hospitality professionals.

Winning this award is a recognition of hard work and passion. It serves as an inspiration for others to strive for excellence and make their mark on the vibrant Northern Territory tourism and hospitality landscape.

George Dunne was a highly respected Territorian who had a long affinity with the Brolga Awards since they commenced in 1987. George joined the Northern Territory Tourist Commission in 1980 and was Regional Director until 1998 when he was then appointed Ministerial Adviser to the Minister for Tourism and Chief Minister. A recipient of the Outstanding Contribution by an Individual Award in 1991, George later received the Tourism Minister's Perpetual Trophy in 2008.

Nomination process:

- Nominations will only be accepted via the awards <u>online system.</u> Like all Brolga Award submissions, it is recommended that submissions are drafted in a Word / Google document and copied into the portal.
- A written overview (1000 to 5000 words) of the candidate which contains:
 - a) The name of the person nominating the candidate and the candidate's relationship to the nominator.
 - b) Brief overview of the candidate, highlighting their outstanding attributes. Include a brief history of their career in the Northern Territory, including a description of their current employment and other participations, if applicable.
 - c) Examples of what the candidate has done over and above their core role and the long-term benefits of their <u>professional contribution and service</u> to the NT.
 - d) Examples of what the candidate has done on a <u>personal level</u> for tourism in the NT and any long-term benefits.
 - e) Contribution to the Australian tourism and hospitality industry, if applicable.

- Upload up to three (3) written references supporting the nomination. The references are to be PDF documents.
- Upload five (5) high resolution images of the candidate.

Judging:

The panel will consider all nominations. The panel will be looking for people who have made a **long term professional and personal contribution** to the Northern Territory tourism and hospitality industry and, if relevant, Australian tourism industry.

They will consider in particular, the activities and contribution of the candidate outside the expectations of their normal employment.

Judges will score on:

Professional contribution and service to NT tourism and hospitality industry
Personal contribution and service to the NT (25 points)
(25 points)

Announcement of the winner:

The winner will be announced and awarded at the Brolga Awards Gala event, 9 November 2024 Alice Springs.

Important notes:

- The award will not be made to the same person twice.
- Nominations are acceptable from any party except the nominee.
- The nominee will not be notified that their name has been put forward for consideration.
- The award will be presented at the discretion of the judges, based on the submissions received.
- This category is awarded at the Northern Territory level winners do not become finalists at the Australian Tourism Awards.
- The national Outstanding Contribution by an Individual (or Tourism Legend) is a separate nomination process, focusing on an individuals' national contribution.
- The criteria and rules for entry for the 2024 Australian Tourism Awards program do not apply to this category.
- It is expected that the nominee will be in attendance at the gala awards ceremony being held in Alice Springs on the 9 November 2024 (at own cost).